#36 history, science, and comedy!

survival in the Andes, consciousness, and the cult of Starbucks

You're Wrong About (Flight 571)

This week, I'm picking individual episodes (all from great podcasts) starting with one of my favourite episodes ever. I listened to the full 1hr episode all the way through as I could not stop. 'You're Wrong About' is hosted by Sarah Marshall and features 'survival expert' Blair Braverman as they recap this story in a 'chatty' way. I won't go in to much detail on the story (to not give it away) but, it follows a Uruguayan Air Force Flight 571, which crashed in the Andes on October 13, 1972, 45 people on board.

The Session with Tom Swarbrick (Conciousness)

I've been wanting to recommend this podcast for a long time (thanks for the recommendation Jonny!). This episode features neuroscientist Professor Anil Seth talking with Tom about consciousness, including how our brains compute and help us understand our own experiences. Another good episode is Dopamine with Anna Lembke.

Sounds Like a Cult (Starbucks)

This podcast looks at different 'cults'; how they originated, their impact on society... etc. One of the most recent ones I enjoyed was Starbucks. Both hosts discuss the company from its savvy marketing tactics and insider-y vocabulary to its addictive beverages and behind-the-scenes corporate ~vibes~. Try it, or pick one that would interest you!

Let me know if you liked the format of individual episodes or prefer it to be full podcasts - you can just reply to this email!

🚨 ANNOUNCEMENT 🚨

We have stickers!!! You can get them by recommending a podcast (see below) and I'll send them to you to spread the word 🤗

Thanks for reading (and hopefully thanks for listening!) ✌🏼 😁😁😁

As always, you can find the podcasts that have been recommended in the podcast everything sheet, and I'd recommend to filter for the category you're looking for 😎 It is updated every week so have a look.

Thanks for reading the podcast movement this week! I hope you enjoyed all of the recommendations.

If you're enjoying the podcast movement please send the link below to you friends to sign up and join! 🕓🎈🎉🦥